Summer at Upper Green

We have been away for a week and returned to a garden bursting with colour and scents as well as a lawn desperately in need of a hair cut. The oriental poppies were beautiful before we left. I love their colours and crinkly tissue-paper like petals, but they never hang around for long and now the plants are ready to be cut back. The first poppy I fell for 40 years ago was probably ‘Mrs Perry’. She had delicate pale salmon-pink flowers and came from my Auntie B. I grew her successfully until we moved house. Oriental poppies are supposed to be long-lived but I have lost a number, I suspect because the soil is too heavy and I over-mulched. I must plant some more in well-drained sunny spots ……and find another ‘Mrs Perry’.

Roses are in full bloom but in this heat (30 degrees centigrade to-day) I do not think they will last long and nor will I be doing much gardening. The ramblers ‘Francis E Lester’ (pale pink single flowers) and ‘Paul’s Himalayan Musk’ (clusters of pink double flowers) have scrambled to the top of their respective supporting apple trees. ‘Bobbie James’ (clusters of creamy white double flowers) a vigorous rambler is covering the trellis in the front garden and ‘Kiftsgate’ (clusters of white single flowers), the most vigorous of all, is in the back hedge.

The best scent comes from the old-fashioned shrub roses and my all time favourite is still the gallica “Charles de Mills” which looks magnificent in combination with another gallica, “Camaieux”.

Summer has arrived!

Leave a Reply

